Utah DesertRunners T4R
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Ben's 2nd Gen '95

+2
Kevin
Bennamin
6 posters

Go down

Ben's 2nd Gen '95 Empty Ben's 2nd Gen '95

Post by Bennamin Tue Apr 21, 2015 8:47 pm

Sorry, I took a wayward path to get here. But, I figured I should get this thread started if I wanna hang out some time, right?

I have always wanted a 4Runner. After a couple of trips to Moab last year in my '06 F150, I figured it was time to hit up a friend of mine that has a tow company to see if he had any 'projects' that I might want to start working on. And so, I became the owner of a 1992 3.0 4WD Auto 4Runner, Grey with Blue interior. I would post a pic, but for some reason I'm technilogically challenged at the moment, I guess.

I paid $500 for it. It wouldn't run. Had an AutoZone battery. I have been a Napa store manager, so that kinda bugged me, but after trickle charging that battery, it would turn over the engine, and still is to this day. Cranked, but no start, and found the fuel pump was lacking. Dropped the tank, replaced the pump, and she started right up... with a hell of an idle problem. Which was fixed when I realized I'd left off a breather tube when I shot starting fluid into the intake. Next I decided to go after oil leaks, and pulled off the valve covers to reseal. While there, changed spark plugs and PCV. Filters and oil next. And then found a coolant leak in the radiator. New radiator, belts, hoses... Found an oil leak coming from the oil cooler on the side of the engine, so decided to get that done while the coolant was out for the radiator. Talk about a pain, and a bunch of brown gunk! And it seemed kinda weird that the new radiator was so much lighter than the old one... oh, and there is supposed to be a thermostat in the thermostat housing?  Very Happy That was a fun day! All back together with no leaks, and no overheating, so went to get temp plates to do inspection and emissio